A new curve in the journey

United_States_Air_Force_logo,_blue_and_silverMonday my last son leaves for Air Force basic training. My job of raising my boys ends and a new phase begins. My mother put it best. Your children are on loan to you to raise and cherish, then to let go so they can make their way in this world.

I’m not sure how I feel about that. We’ve had children in the house for a long time. When my oldest left, it was in steps. First he got his own apartment, then he moved to Florida. He was within driving distance. Then he moved home. I needed him at that time. Then he moved to New Mexico — a 3 day drive. I cried in the driveway.

We are lucky to be in this age of digital communication.  We can text, email, facetime, skype with loved ones any time we want. We can see them face to face. It eases the pain and the distance between us.

Now my youngest leaves. It’s different this time.  This is the son I have secret giggles with. He’s always trying to make me laugh. This tall, thin, young man is going to serve the country. I’m so proud of him I can hardly speak without tears.hands-holding-newborn-300x198

It’s just my husband and I after all these years.  Funny how we looked forward to this time together and now that its here, I’m not sure what to do with it.  We have our first grandchild on the way and I’m not sure how to be a grandmother.

Where did the time go? I’m looking forward to this new curve. I’m hoping to get more writing done. I’m hoping to travel to visit my son as he spends time in exotic places. (I’m secretly hoping he gets stationed in England for three years.) I can’t wait to hold my grandchild in my arms and smell that sweet baby smell, rock him/her to sleep in my arms.

Yeah, saying good-bye hurts, but life is good and I’m thankful for the different curves in the journey.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a comment