Locating Jane Austen: The Author’s Influence Upon the English Tourism Business

ReginaJeffers's Blog

Recently, I partook of a short 4-day bus tour of the home of American Presidents in Virginia. Living in neighboring state of North Carolina, the trip was not exhausting, and so on the first day (before we settled in our hotel for the evening) we visited the home of the 5th President, James Monroe. Ash Lawn-Highland is billed as a “place of comfort and hospitality.” On the succeeding days we traveled to George Washington’s Mount Vernon, James Madison’s Montpelier, Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello, and Woodrow Wilson’s Library and Museum. At each there were the typical tour guides, brochures, souvenirs, and period pieces, some reconstructed and some simply spoken of.

Like any serious writer, I carried my trusty laptop and spiral notebooks with me. Those who know me well know I am likely to carry my notebook to the physician’s office and write while I wait, so naturally, the tendency to write…

View original post 430 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Locating Jane Austen: The Author’s Influence Upon the English Tourism Business

  1. Eileen J. Nichols.

    Love your set up. Where is that painting I gave you of Jane’s house. You could put that on your blog.

Leave a Reply

